Voters can cast primary ballots early starting Saturday

Aug 22, 2022

Early voting for the Massachusetts primary begins this Saturday in Wareham.

The deadline to register to vote is Aug. 27, and the deadline for vote-by-mail applications is Aug. 29. Early voting runs from Aug. 27 to Sept. 2, and the primary election is slated for Sept. 6.

Voters can cast their ballots early from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. on Saturday and several days next week at the auditorium in Town Hall, 54 Marion Rd. Early voting runs from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. next week from Aug. 29 to Sept. 1 at Town Hall.

Voters must select a party to cast their ballots for, as this is a primary election.

Several primary races are contested at the state and district level.

The 3rd Bristol & Plymouth District Democratic candidate for State Senate is State Sen. Marc Pacheco, who is running unopposed in the primary. The Republican candidate for the same position is Maria Collins of Taunton.

The U.S. House of Representatives District 9 Republican candidates are Jesse Brown and Dan Sullivan. The victor of that primary race will be up against incumbent Rep. Bill Keating in the fall.

Running against each other in the Democratic race for Plymouth County Commissioner are Alex Bezanson and Carlso Da Silva. Whoever wins the primary will face the Republican candidate Sandra Wright, who is running as an incumbent.

Current Plymouth County District Attorney Tim Cruz is running unopposed in the Republican primary, though he will face Democratic candidate Rahsaan Hall in November.

Incumbent Joseph McDonald Jr. is running unopposed for Plymouth County sheriff.

State Rep. Susan Gifford is running unopposed for the 2nd Plymouth District state senate seat.

Also on the ballot will be the statewide races for governor, lieutenant governor, secretary of state, state auditor, attorney general and the U.S. House of Representatives.

Polls will open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. on the day of the state primary, Sept. 6.

For a full list of candidates, visit the secretary of state’s website.