Wareham election ballot takes shape as candidate deadline passes

Feb 11, 2019

The ballot for the town’s April 2 election is set as a candidate deadline passed on Monday night.

Candidates had until 5 p.m. to return the signatures of 50 registered voters to the Town Clerk’s office. While 13 people announced intentions to run, 12 people returned signatures before Monday’s deadline.

Jenna Deane had taken out nomination papers for Town Clerk, but did not return them in time. She is an assistant in the Town Clerk’s office. The only candidate for that seat, which is being left vacant by retiring Town Clerk Mary Ann Silva, is Marion Town House employee Michelle Bissonette.

Selectman Patrick Tropeano was the first to pull nomination papers on Jan. 7, running for reelection to a three-year term on the Board of Selectmen. Incumbent Anthony Scarsciotti is seeking reelection, too. A third candidate, Jim Munise, is also in the running.

The race for School Committee features two open seats and four candidates. Jennifer Bailey and Apryl Rossi are seeking the same seat left open by Rebekah Pratt who stepped down in December following her family’s move to Carver. Geoffrey Swett is running for incumbent Mary Morgan’s seat. Swett, a veteran of the committee, was defeated in the previous election. Recently, Swett was appointed to fill Pratt’s seat until the election.

Town Moderator Claire Smith is running unopposed as is Sewer Commissioner Peter Dunlop. Incumbent Jean Connaughton and Jody Sanagate are seeking one seat on the Wareham Housing Authority.