Candidates return nomination papers

Mar 20, 2024

A majority of candidates who took out nomination papers for town offices returned them by the deadline of Tuesday, March 19. 

Planning Board member Sherry Quirk and former Select Board member Brenda Eckstrom returned nomination papers for a three year term on the Select Board. 

Former Wareham Courier Editor Sarah Corbitt, former planning department intern Jared Fredrickson, Better Way Primary Care practice manager Russel Kriehn and Onset Cape Verdean Festival Association president Deneen Rose returned their nomination papers for a two year seat on the Select Board. 

Eckstrom and Amanda Frost, who said she got into the race to improve communication within the town, did not return their papers for the two year seat. 

The remaining candidates who took out nomination papers for public office returned their papers. The contested races are:

* Apryl Rossi, Geoffrey Swett and Brenda Eckstrom returned their papers for two seats on the School Committee. 

* Claire Smith returned papers for Deputy Moderator. 

* Steve Curry, Brenda Eckstrom and John Donahue returned their papers for a Board of Assessor seat. Two seats are available on the board. 

* Sandra Slavin and Brenda Eckstrom returned their papers for a Sewer User Commissioner seat. James Giberti is running uncontested for the Non Sewer User Commissioner seat. 

* Brenda Eckstrom, Jim Munise and William Silvia returned their papers for a one year term on the Housing Authority. Eckstrom did not return nomination papers for a five year term on the Housing Authority, leaving Dennis Praino the sole candidate in that race. 

The Town Clerk’s office still needs to certify the nomination papers; while these candidates have returned nomination papers, they are not on the ballot until those papers have been certified. 

Editor’s note: The original version of this story stated that Brenda Eckstrom returned her papers for Deputy Moderator. This is incorrect, and the story has been updated to reflect that as of 5:45 pm. on Thursday, March 21.