Eight seats to be on ballot for Town Election

Jan 6, 2021

Eight positions will be up for votes at the annual town election on May 4 from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m.

The positions that are open are one three-year Selectmen’s seat, two three-year assessors positions, two three-year school committee positions, one three-year deputy moderator position, and two three-year seats as sewer commissioner: one user and one non-user. 

Those interested in running for a position need to obtain nomination papers from the Town Clerk’s office between Jan. 19 and March 8. Because Town Hall is closed to walk-ins, an appointment is required. 

The following officials are up for reelection: Selectman Alan Slavin, Assessors Steven Curry and John Donahue, School Committee members Mike Flaherty and Apryl Rossi, Deputy Moderator Joseph Ashley, and Sewer Commissioners Sandy Slavin and James Giberti. 

Rossi said she plans to run again, and hopes to serve on the School Committee for as long as her son, a sophomore, is a student at Wareham High School.

“I love our town, I love our schools, and see so much potential among the great things we already have going for us,” said Rossi. “My hope is to continue to be a voice for the kids and the community and advocate to keep things moving forward and in a positive direction by addressing things head-on and transparently.”

Both Selectman Alan Slavin and School Committee Member Mike Flaherty said that they were waiting until after nomination papers were available to announce their intentions.

For more information, call the Town Clerk’s office at (508) 291-3140.